Secular Liturgies Network and Forum

Our mission is to enrich societies with secular ethics and reflective practices, informed by the latest research, and expressed in original creative, scholarly and journalistic publications and events. Our work has strong themes of well-being, sustainability, cultural enrichment and community building.

Further Resources

There is demand for a secular liturgical broadcast or podcast series, which unlike the BBC’s Thought for the Day, welcomes atheist/non-theist and progressive speakers. I am, therefore, looking into producing a weekly podcast under the title Secular Liturgies (or Secular Sundays perhaps?), in which guest speakers are invited to give short addresses on subjects relevant to this network and forum. I am gathering names of potential speakers. These could, for example, be philosophers, academics, writers, humanist or progressive pastoral care practitioners/clergy, and leaders of relevant secular movements, societies, projects and networks. If you have any suggestions for potential speakers, who you would really like to hear deliver a message, do let me know!

podcast-microphone-computer-nicolas-solop-flickr-582x388

The SLN/F in other Media

Somerville-Wong AE, Secular Liturgies in Secular Studies, Volume 1, Issue 2, October 2019 (an international, multi-disciplinary peer-reviewed Brill journal)

Somerville-Wong AE, Rational Spirituality and How I got Here, Universalist Conversations https://universalistfriends.org/weblog/rational-spirituality

Somerville-Wong AE, Secular Liturgies: Rational Spirituality for a Post-Religious Age, Resurgence and Ecologist Magazine, May/June 2019 Edition, Frontline News Section

Somerville-Wong AE, Secular Liturgies: Rational Spirituality for a Post-Religious Age, Progressive Voices, March 2019 Edition p10-11

Internet Resources

Relevant Secular Organisations and Projects

American Humanist Association at https://americanhumanist.org/

Feasts for the Future at https://www.plymouth.ac.uk/research/feasts-for-the-future

Humanists UK, recommended resources at https://humanism.org.uk/education/recommended-resources/

Imagining Alternatives at http://blogs.plymouth.ac.uk/imaginingalternatives/

Modern Stoicism at https://modernstoicism.com

National Secular Society at https://www.secularism.org.uk

Poetry Foundation at https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/naomi-shihab-nye

Religious Naturalist Association http://religious-naturalist-association.org

Sunday Assembly at https://www.sundayassembly.com/

The Freethought Society https://www.ftsociety.org

The School of Life at https://www.theschooloflife.com/

The School of Life videos at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q_xJpVlry14

The Society for Storytelling at https://www.sfs.org.uk/

Transition Network https://transitionnetwork.org

UN Sustainable Development Goals at https://www.un.org/sustainabledevelopment/sustainable-development-goals/

Progressive Religious Reform Movements and Organisations

Alliance for Inclusive Muslims (International Coalition) https://aim.ngo/

A Progressive Christian Voice (Australia) https://www.progressivechristians.org.au

Association for Global New Thought http://www.agnt.org

Association of Humanistic Rabbis https://www.humanisticrabbis.org

Beliefnethttps://www.beliefnet.com

Centre for Radical Christianity https://stmarkssheffield.co.uk/developing-faith/centre-for-radical-christianity/

Center for Action and Contemplation http://www.cacradicalgrace.org

Changing Attitude Trawsnewid Agwedd Cymru https://www.facebook.com/ChangingAttitudeCymru/

Changing Attitudes Scotland http://www.changingattitudescotland.org.uk

Charter for Compassion https://charterforcompassion.org/

Church of Lost Walls https://www.churchoflostwalls.org

Common Dreams https://commondreams.org.au

Darkwood Brew http://darkwoodbrew.org

Evolutionary Christianity https://thankgodforevolution.com/blog/evolutionary-christianity

Explore Faith http://www.explorefaith.org

Faith and Reason https://www.faithandreason.org

Fans of John Shelby Spong https://en-gb.facebook.com/groups/19211359760/

Fox Institute for Creative Spirituality http://www.foxinstitute-cs.org

Foundation for Contemporary Theology http://www.contemporarytheology.org

Global Ministries University http://www.globalministriesuniversity.org

Holy City http://www.holycity-glasgow.co.uk

Humanistic Buddhism http://www.nantien.org.au/en/buddhism/what-humanistic-buddhism

Humanistic Hinduism, an online summary of Ethics for our Times: Essays in Gandhian Perspectivehttps://www.oxfordscholarship.com/view/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780198073864.001.0001/acprof-9780198073864-chapter-8and https://oxfordindex.oup.com/view/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780198073864.003.0009

Humanistic Jainism https://www.researchgate.net/publication/327720009_HUMANISM_AND_JAINISMwith updates and annotation at http://www.herenow4u.net/index.php?id=76532

Inclusive Mosque Initiative http://inclusivemosque.org/about/

International Christian University https://www.icu.ac.jp/en/

International Institutue for Secular Humanistic Judaism http://www.iishj.org

Liberal Judaism at http://www.liberaljudaism.org/

Library of Secular Humanistic Judaism https://www.libraryshj.com/video-catalogues

Living the Questions https://livingthequestions.com

Mecca Institute https://meccainstitute.org/about-mecca

Muslim Alliance for Sexual and Gender Diversityhttp://www.muslimalliance.org

Muslim Reform Movement at https://muslimreformmovement.org

Muslims for Progressive Values (N. America) http://www.mpvusa.org/

New Unity (Andy Pakula) https://www.new-unity.org/

Norwich Christian Meditation Centre https://www.norwichmeditation.co.uk

OneBodyOneFaith http://www.onebodyonefaith.org.uk

Pachamama Alliance https://www.pachamama.org

Patheos at https://www.patheos.com/

PCAN Progressive Christian Artists Network https://www.facebook.com/groups/127792707296079/

PCN (Britain) at https://www.pcnbritain.org.uk/

PCN (Britain) worship resources at https://www.pcnbritain.org.uk/resources/category/worship-resources

Percific School of Religion https://psr.edu

Permission to Speak (John Churcher) http://www.permissiontospeak.org.uk/home-page

Progressive Christian Artists Network https://www.progressivechristianartists.org

Progressive Christianity Aotearoa https://progressivechristianityaotearoa.com

Progressive Christianity (US) at https://progressivechristianity.org/

Progressive Christianity (US) Liturgies Project at https://progressivechristianity.org/liturgy-project/

Progressive Christians Uniting https://www.progressivechristiansuniting.org

Progressive Faith Collective (Greater Toronto Area) https://www.progressivefaithcollective.com

Project Peace on Earth http://www.projectpeaceonearth.org

Protestants dans la Ville http://protestantsdanslaville.org

Quakers in Britain, resources at https://www.quaker.org.uk/resources/quaker-faith-and-practice

Quaker Nontheist Friends Network at https://nontheist-quakers.org.uk

Quaker Universalist Group – UK at https://qug.org.uk

Quaker Universalist Fellowship (US) at https://universalistfriends.org

Quilliam International at https://www.quilliaminternational.com/

Radical Faith http://www.radicalfaith.org

Reflective Spaces (Elizabeth White) https://www.reflectivespaces.org.uk/

Religious Naturalist Association http://religious-naturalist-association.org

Resurgence https://www.resurgence.org/

Sadhana, Progressive Hinduism https://www.sadhana.org/

Safra Project https://en-gb.facebook.com/pages/category/Nonprofit-Organization/Safra-Project-116664066494/

Salt Project http://www.saltproject.org

Scarboro Missions https://www.scarboromissions.ca

Secular/agnostic Buddhism at http://secularbuddhism.org/

Sisters in Islam http://www.sistersinislam.org.my

Society for Humanistic Judaism http://www.shj.org

Soulseeds https://www.soulseeds.com

Spirited NZ Progressive Christianity http://spiritednz.com

Spirituality and Practice https://www.spiritualityandpractice.com

St James’s Church Picadilly London https://www.sjp.org.uk

St Mathew-in-the-City (Aukland NZ) https://www.stmatthews.nz

St Michael’s Uniting Church (Melbourne) https://stmichaels.org.au/the-church/

Sunday Assembly at https://www.sundayassembly.com/(While Sunday Assembly claims to be a nonreligious organisation, like the progressive religious reform movements, it nonetheless takes its form and inspiration from the religious background of its founders, Sanderson Jones and Pippa Evans.)

Student Christian Movement (SCM) https://www.movement.org.uk

The Canadian Center for Progressive Christianity (Gretta Vosper) https://www.grettavosper.caand http://www.westhill.net/progressive/and https://www.progressivechristianity.ca

The Chaplaincy Institute https://chaplaincyinstitute.org

The Emerging Church (Roger ray) at spfccc.org

The International Federation for Secular Humanistic Judaism https://www.ifshj.net

The Iona Community http://www.iona.org.uk

The Marcus Borg Foundation https://marcusjborg.org/

The Muslim Reform Movement at https://muslimreformmovement.org/

The Progressive Christian Network of Victoria http://pcnvictoria.blogspot.com

The Re-imagining Community https://re-imaginingcommunity.org

The Society for Humanistic Judaism at http://www.shj.org/

Thinking Aloud http://www.cairnschurch.org.uk/ThinkingAllowedOnline.htm

Unitarians UK at https://www.unitarian.org.uk/

Unitarian Universalist Association USA https://www.uua.org

Unity, School of Practical Christianity http://unityuk.org

Westar Institute https://www.westarinstitute.organd Polebridge Press https://www.westarinstitute.org/store-home/about-polebridge-press/

Wild Goose Festival http://wildgoosefestival.org

Worship Words http://worshipwords.co.uk/

You are Loved (Murals) http://www.youarelovedmurals.com/about/


 

Books

Botton de, Alain. Religion for Atheists. Penguin Books, 2012 (also see de Botton’s TED talk on Atheism 2.0 at https://www.ted.com/talks/alain_de_botton_atheism_2_0/up-next?language=en

Gordon-Lennox, Jeltje. Crafting Secular Ritual: A Practical Guide. Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2017

Kahneman D, Thinking Fast Thinking Slow, Penguin, 2012 (I include this because an understanding of behavioural psychology and cognitive biases will provide a crucial underpinning for work on secular ethics and reflective practice.)

Somerville-Wong AE, For Every Season: Progressive Liturgies for Worship, Pilgrim Press, 2013

Thaler, Richard H.,Sunstein, Cass R., Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, And Happiness. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2008


See the following authors for works on Reflective Practice: Borton, Kolb and Fry, Argyris and Schon, Gibbs, Benner and Wrubel, Brookfield and Johns, Somerville and Keeling

The websites of humanist organisations list books that more directly address their perspectives. See, for example, https://humanism.org.uk/education/recommended-resources/ for works recommended by Humanists UK.

A range of humanist articles recommends authors and poets whose works explore the various dimensions of the humanist philosophy and way of life. These include Humanist of the Year recipients Isaac Asimov, Margaret Atwood, Rebecca Newberger Goldstein, Joyce Carol Oates, Carl Sagan, Kurt Vonnegut, and Alice Walker, works by prominent humanists Phillip Pullman and Salman Rushdie, and other authors published through the American Humanist Association’s Humanist Press. Also recommended are works by Douglas Adams, Mulk Raj Anand, Zora Neale Hurston, Doris Lessing, Catherine Lim, Terry Pratchett, Anne Rice, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, Robert J. Sawyer, Richard wright, Octavia Butler, Annie Dillard, MFK Fisher and Phillip Larkin.

For Progressive Christianity, see works by Gretta Vosper, Marcus Borg, Karen Armstrong, John Hick, Dale Allison, Diana Butler Bass, Walter Brueggemann, Richard Rohr, Bishop Selby Spong, Peter Enns, Richard Beck, Rachel Held Evans, Rob Bell, John Dominic Crossan, Brain McLaren, Phyllis Tickle, Mike McHargue and Roger Lee Ray.

Peer Reviewed Research

There is a wealth of relevant research on many of the subjects discussed within the Network. Much of this can be accessed in online journals.

The SLN publishes shorter peer-reviewed articles by researchers and academics, which communicate new and established research findings in ways that are accessible to a diverse readership.

We are looking for work in all relevant fields, including reflective practice, secular ethics, pastoral care, medical humanities, secular studies, behavioural science, psychology and the contemporary relevance/application of ancient philosophy, religious studies and comparative religion. We are also interested in historical and anthropological explorations of ethics and ritual, and relevant articles in architecture  on, for example, place and ritual.

Whatever your discipline, if you can make a good case for the relevance of your research to our themes and objectives, please do get in touch.

Here are some useful links to relevant research:

Barna Group https://www.barna.com/

European Social Survey https://www.europeansocialsurvey.org/data/ (and a document by Stephen Bullivant on Europe’s young adults and religion based on the 2014-16 European Social Survey  at https://www.stmarys.ac.uk/research/centres/benedict-xvi/docs/2018-mar-europe-young-people-report-eng.pdf)

Pew Research Centre at http://www.pewforum.org/

Religion and Global Society (London School of Economics and Political Science) at https://blogs.lse.ac.uk/religionglobalsociety/

The Conversation at https://theconversation.com/us

The National Centre for Social Research’s British Social Attitudes Survey at http://www.bsa.natcen.ac.uk/latest-report/british-social-attitudes-28/religion.aspx

The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) UK at https://www.nice.org.uk/

The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) UK, Research on Mindfulness at https://www.evidence.nhs.uk/search?q=mindfulness